Apparently I’m the Last to Know

Sooooo…did you know that asking for travelers checks at the bank is like asking to borrow a quarter for the payphone?

I went to the bank today to pick up some travelers checks for my upcoming trip to Panama.  Apparently, they stopped selling them about a year ago.  I was also informed that “nobody gets those anymore,” and that a lot of banks won’t even cash them.  With that being said, I decided to do some research on my own once I got home.

Conclusion — I’ll be getting my money from a cash machine; atms ARE everywhere.  And when I stop to think about it, I haven’t gotten travelers checks in years.  When I went to Costa Rica last year, I just brought a small amount of cash to change at a bank once I got there and used my credit card the rest of the time.  Since Panama’s currency is US Dollars, I’ll only have to pay the fees for using a foreign atm, from my bank and the bank I use abroad, and not anything for foreign exchange.  If all else fails, I can always use my credit card.

Sincerely,

Ms. Informed

One thought on “Apparently I’m the Last to Know

  1. Interesting? Good to know. I always liked the idea of how travelers checks protected travelers from losing cash and theft. But I guess checks are antiquated these days.

Leave a Reply

