Quick and Easy Patacones

One of the things I love most about traveling is learning about new foods and/or new ways to cook familiar foods.

While I was in Panama, one of my favorite side dishes were patacones.  I had tried plantains before, many times in fact, but I was never really thrilled with them.  That was until I had green plantains.  I definitely have a sweet tooth, but I tend to not like to mix sweet flavors with savory meals…hence me not being particularly fond of ripe/yellow plantains.

The best thing about them is that they are so quick and easy to make (+ not expensive).

Patacones Step-by-Step

You only need three ingredients: green plantains, oil, and salt.

1.  Peel your plantains.  I like to slice vertically down the length of the plantain into only the skin, probably about 3-5 slices.  Then I peel them.

2.  Next, slice the plantains into 1/5inch chunks.

3.  Heat your oil.  I use whatever oil I have available, this time it was sunflower.  You can test your oil by giving it a light (very light) splash of water.  If it starts bubbling and crackling, it’s ready.  Place your plantain chunks in the oil, rotating until a golden color.

4.  Remove the plantains from the oil and let drip dry over some paper towels.  I like to get some of the excess oil off first.  Then piece by piece, I smash each chunk under a flat surface (for me, this is usually the bottom of a cup).  No need to be perfect here, it’s better if they have some personality.  Once complete, drop them back in the hot oil for a quick second fry.  Remove and drain again.  Sprinkle with salt or preferred seasonings.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Quick and Easy Patacones

    • Thank you! I really enjoyed them. Sancocho was always yummy and I wish I could remember the name, but it was a fluffly fried flatbread. I finally had a sandwich made out of them at a restaurant on via Argentina and it was sooooo good.

  1. Pingback: 5 typical foods you should try while you are in Panama | EcoCircuitos Panama's Blog

Leave a Reply

